wecoordinate hfaThe HFA is  a 10-year strategy to integrate disaster risk reduction into the development programmes of individual nations.

The Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) is the first plan to explain, describe and detail the work that is required from all different sectors and actors to reduce disaster losses. It was developed and agreed on with the many partners needed to reduce disaster risk - governments, international agencies, disaster experts and many others - bringing them into a common system of coordination.

The HFA outlines five priorities for action, and offers guiding principles and practical means for achieving disaster resilience. Its goal is to substantially reduce disaster losses by 2015 by building the resilience of nations and communities to disasters. This means reducing loss of lives and social, economic, and environmental assets when hazards strike.

The five priority actions identified by the HFA are to:

  1. Ensure DRR is a national and a local priority.
  2. Identify, assess and monitor disaster risk and enhance early warning.
  3. Use knowledge, innovation and education to build a culture of safety and resilience at all levels.
  4. Strengthen disaster preparedness for effective response at all levels.

Follow us on Twitter

SPR Photogallery

Latest Events

No events